The ACAC is governed by a Council that is elected by its membership, Alberta’s registered chiropractors. Council governs in a manner that respects and protects the privilege of self-regulation granted to the profession and is responsible for making decisions that best serve the public interest and ensure the quality of chiropractic care in Alberta. On behalf of the ACAC, Council protects and serves Albertans by defining and implementing a Code of Ethics, Standards of Practice and Bylaws to ensure Alberta chiropractors provide high quality, competent and ethical chiropractic care. 

Our governing board (Council) is made up of:

  • Six chiropractors elected by peers
  • Two government-appointed public members

The President is elected by sitting Council members. As well, two public members are appointed to the ACAC Council by the Government of Alberta. Public members provide a critically necessary public-oriented perspective and ensure decisions and actions made by Council are in the best interest of Albertans.

Contacting Council

Council is committed to connecting with members and to ensure the broadest possible understanding of ACAC activities.

ACAC members are encouraged to contact their assigned Council member (or the Council member of their choice) with any questions or concerns. Additionally, members will occasionally receive Council News, an e-newsletter which is sent out on an as-needed basis, and which reports on special Council news and decisions.


Which Council member should members contact?

If your surname...

begins with A, J, K, N,  contact Dr. Brad Kane  
begins with M, O, Q, T or W, contact Dr. Kirsten Baxter  
begins with B, C, F, U or Y, contact Dr. Chad Kulak  
begins with E, L, P or R, contact Dr. Jamila Abdulla  
begins with D, I, S or Z, contact Dr. Peter Shipka  
begins with G, H, V or X, contact Dr. Zara Brayer


Council members

Dr. Brad Kane,

Dr. Jamilla Abdulla

Dr. Chad Kulak

Dr. Kirsten Baxter,
Vice President

Dr. Zara Brayer

Dr. Peter Shipka

Public Council members

Ms.Karen Reschke

Ms. Patricia Pelton